Broken Saints Forum Index Broken Saints
Forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

A new project?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Broken Saints Forum Index -> You Cannot Hurt Us...for We Believe.
View previous topic :: View next topic  
LadyGodai

PostPosted: Sat Mar 17, 2012 12:23 pm    Post subject: A new project? Reply with quote

I plan on writing a comic book script novel, but reality check, I have no experience of writing a script. Where should I go to find experience for it?
Spongey

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 3:35 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since when has a lack of experience stopped any of us

http://scriptfrenzy.org/ has some pretty decent formatting info. Beyond that, there's always Google. In the past I've been able to find sample scripts for things, and kind of picked out the parts of those that fit my style.

Any specific information you'd be looking for?
LadyGodai

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 9:14 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Glossary and how to write a script.
Spongey

PostPosted: Sun Mar 18, 2012 4:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Comic book scripts depend a lot on what artist you have...at least in the professional world. What I tend to do is make an outline of the issue, as far as events, character development, story arcs, etc. Once I have that I break it down by approximate timing -- by page 10, this is where we are in the story. Now comes the hard part: you pretty much have to envision what the page looks like, and then describe it.

What I do is give a brief description of the page itself and what events are taking place, as well as panel layout. So I might say "Layout is six panels, traditional style. Nothing too exciting happening, Maxwell is moving through the house and pauses to pet his cat, Bootsy."