Broken Saints Forum Index Broken Saints
Forums

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Warrior Dash run

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Broken Saints Forum Index -> What Would You Give...to Know the Truth?
View previous topic :: View next topic  
The Eggplant

PostPosted: Sun Apr 15, 2012 7:42 am    Post subject: Warrior Dash run Reply with quote

Hey everyone,

Later this year I am running the Warrior Dash, a 5K obstacle course through mud and mountains, but I am also doing it to raise money for St. Jude Children's Research Hospital.

As a practicing martial artist, I am continuously discovering how my body physically moves and have been improving my performance and technique over time. Once I began to become consciously aware of what I was doing, I have been wanting to see what kind of limits I could push myself outside of martial arts. A friend of mine has invited to participate in this fun event with him, and I saw this as an opportunity to see how my training has affected me in my overall physical fitness. Growing up, I hardly did any physical activity at all, was very out of shape, and could not even run a quarter mile without feeling winded.

I have been involved with community service in various capacities since I was a student in high school. That is where I met someone who started a Youth Program in the volunteer department at a large organization which has grown tremendously over the years. That person has also been a big influence on my life, she is a huge proponent of youth activism and empowerment, and also happens to be my martial arts instructor. Giving back to the community is something I learned over the years in knowing her, an idea also reinforced by my parents who have always been very selfless, taking care of other people and providing for them no matter who they were.